COURT NO.3

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition(s)(Civil) No(s). 1067/2019

NATIONAL FEDERATION OF SOCIETIES FOR FAST JUSTICE & ANR.

Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

UNION OF INDIA & ORS.

Respondent(s)

(IA No. 42346/2020 - APPLICATION FOR WAIVER OF ADDITIONAL COSTS IA No. 23726/2023 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T. IA NO. 20754/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T. IA NO. 7966/2020 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T. IA NO. 27884/2023 - EXEMPTION FROM FILING O.T. IA No. 168393/2019 - INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT IA No. 226445/2023 - INTERVENTION/IMPLEADMENT IA No. 158887/2019 - PERMISSION TO FILE ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS/FACTS/ANNEXURES) Date : 11-09-2024 These matters were called on for hearing today. CORAM : HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE B.R. GAVAI HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE PRASHANT KUMAR MISHRA HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE K.V. VISWANATHAN Mr. Prashant Bhushan, AOR For Petitioner(s) Mr. Rahul Gupta, Adv. Mr. Luma Kanta Bhandari, Adv. For Respondent(s) Mrs. Aishwarya Bhati, A.S.G. Mr. R Bala, Sr. Adv. Mr. Rajeev Ranjan, Adv. Mr. Annirudh Sharma Ii, Adv. Mr. Akshay Nain, Adv. Mr. Ishaan Sharma, Adv. Mr. Gaurang Bhushan, Adv. Mr. Arvind Kumar Sharma, AOR Mr. Huzefa Ahmadi, Sr.Adv. Mr. Varinder Kumar Sharma, Adv. Mr. Shantanu Sharma, Adv. Ms. Prerna Singh, Adv. Mr. Guntur Pramod Kumar, AOR Mr. Samarth Luthra, Adv.

Mr. Abhimanyu Tewari, AOR Ms. Eliza Bar, Adv. Mr. Shuvodeep Roy, AOR Mr. Saurabh Tripathi, Adv. Mr. Deepayan Dutta, Adv. Mr. Manish Kumar, AOR Ms. Ankita Sharma, AOR Mr. Arjun D Singh, Adv. Mr. Abhay Anil Anturkar, Adv. Mr. Dhruv Tank, Adv. Mr. Aniruddha Awalgaonkar, Adv. Mr. Bhagwant Deshpande, Adv. Ms. Surbhi Kapoor, AOR Ms. Deepanwita Priyanka, AOR Mr. Prashant Bhagwati, Adv. Mr. B.k. Satija, A.A.G. Mr. Samar Vijay Singh, AOR Ms. Sabarni Som, Adv. Mr. Fateh Singh, Adv. Mr. Rajender Yadav, D.A.G. Mr. Yadav Narender Singh, AOR Mr. Mayank Kumar Singh, Adv. Mr. Jagdish Parshad, Adv. Mr. Parth Awasthi, Adv. Mr. Pashupathi Nath Razdan, AOR Ms. Maitreyee Jagat Joshi, Adv. Mr. Shantanu Sagar, AOR Mr. Prabhat Ranjan Raj, Adv. Mr. Anil Kumar, Adv. Mr. Gunjesh Ranjan, Adv. Mrs. Divya Mishra, Adv. Mr. Manoneet Dwivedi, Adv. Mr. V. N. Raghupathy, AOR Mr. Vishwanath P. Allannavar, Adv. Ms. Mythili S, Adv. Mr. Nishe Rajen Shonker, AOR Mrs. Anu K Joy, Adv. Mr. Alim Anvar, Adv. Mr. Ajith Anto Perumbully, Adv.

Mr. Rahul Kaushik, AOR Mr. Shrirang B. Varma, Adv. Mr. Siddharth Dharmadhikari, Adv. Mr. Aaditya Aniruddha Pande, AOR Mr. Bharat Bagla, Adv. Mr. Sourav Singh, Adv. Mr. Aditya Krishna, Adv. Ms. Preet S. Phanse, Adv. Mr. Adarsh Dubey, Adv. Mr. Pukhrambam Ramesh Kumar, AOR Mr. Karun Sharma, Adv. Ms. Anupama Ngangom, Adv. Ms. Rajkumari Divyasana, Adv. Mr. Avijit Mani Tripathi, AOR Mr. Anando Mukherjee, AOR Mr. Shwetank Singh, Adv. Ms. Akshata Chhabra, Adv. Mr. Abhinav Bajaj, Adv. Ms. Geetashi Chandna, Adv. Mr. Saksham Ojha, Adv. Ms. K. Enatoli Sema, AOR Mr. Amit Kumar Singh, Adv. Ms. Chubalemla Chang, Adv. Mr. Prang Newmai, Adv. Mr. Som Raj Choudhury, AOR Mr. Gurminder Singh, A.G/Sr.Adv. Ms. Nupur Kumar, AOR Ms. Niharika Tanwar, Adv. Mr. Shiv Mangal Sharma, A.A.G. Mr. Sandeep Kumar Jha, AOR Ms. Nidhi Jaswal, Adv. Ms. Shalini Singh, Adv. Mr. Saurabh Rajpal, Adv. Mr. Sameer Abhyankar, AOR Mr. Aakash Thakur, Adv. Mr. Rahul Kumar, Adv. Ms. Ayushi Bansal, Adv. Mr. Sarthak Dora, Adv. Mr. Aryan Srivastava, Adv. Mr. Amit Anand Tiwari, A.A.G.

Mr. Sabarish Subramanian, AOR

Ms. Devyani Gupta, Adv. Mr. Vishnu Unnikrishnan, Adv. Mr. C Kranthi Kumar, Adv. Mr. Danish Saifi, Adv. Ms. Tanvi Anand, Adv. Ms. Devina Sehgal, AOR Mr. Dhananjay Yadav, Adv. Ms. Garima Prasad, Sr. A.A.G. Mr. Pradeep Misra, AOR Mr. Daleep Dhyani, Adv. Mr. Harsh Pratap Shahi, Adv. Mr. Suraj Singh, Adv. Mr. Manan Verma, AOR Mr. Ankit Shah, Adv. Ms. Madhumita Bhattacharjee, AOR Ms. Debarati Sadhu, Adv. Ms. Srija Choudhury, Adv. Mr. Anant, Adv. Ms. Sajal, Adv. Mr. Ramesh Babu M. R., AOR Ms. Charu Ambwani, AOR Mr. Prashant Shrikant Kenjale, AOR Mr. Kunal Chatterji, AOR Ms. Maitrayee Banerjee, Adv. Mr. Rohit Bansal, Adv. Mr. Apoorv Kurup, AOR Ms. Nidhi Mittal, Adv. Ms. Gauri Goburdhun, Adv. Ms. Aanchal, Adv. Mr. Akhil Hasija, Adv. Mr. Gurjas Singh Narula, Adv. Mr. Samir Ali Khan, AOR Mr. Pranjal Sharma, Adv. Mr. Abhimanyu Jhamba, Adv. Ms. Vishakha, AOR Ms. Sneha Kalita, AOR Ms. Manisha Ambwani, AOR

Mr. Tapesh Kumar Singh, Sr. Adv. Mr. Abhishek Singh, AOR Mr. Akshat Choudhary, Adv. Ms. K. V. Bharathi Upadhyaya, AOR Mr. V. K. Biju, AOR Ms. Ria Sachthey, Adv. Mr. R. Ayyam Perumal, AOR Mr. Arjun Garg, AOR Mr. Aakash Nandolia, Adv. Ms. Sagun Srivastava, Adv. Ms. Kriti Gupta, Adv. Mr. Sanjai Kumar Pathak, AOR Mr. Arvind Kumar Tripathi, Adv. Mrs. Shashi Pathak, Adv. Mr. Maruti Nandan, Adv. Mr. Mahesh Thakur, AOR Mr. Ahathemahanthem Henry, Adv. Mr. Ahanthem Rohen Singh, Adv. Mr. Mohan Singh, Adv. Mr. Aniket Rajput, Adv. Ms. Khoisnam Nirmala Devi, Adv. Mr. Kumar Mihir, AOR Mr. Niranjan Sahu, AOR Mr. Gautam Narayan, AOR Ms. Asmita Singh, Adv. Mr. Anirudh Anand, Adv. Mr. Tushar Nair, Adv. Mr. Punishk Handa, Adv. Mr. Mukul Kumar, AOR Ms. Enakshi Mukhopadhyay Siddhanta, AOR Mr. Govindarajan J., Adv. Mr. B. Shravanth Shanker, AOR Ms. Prerna Robin, Adv. Mr. B. Yeshwanth Raj, Adv. Mr. Amit Sharma, AOR Mr. Dipesh Sinha, Adv. Ms. Pallavi Barua, Adv. Ms. Aparna Singh, Adv.

Ms. Radhika Gautam, AOR Ms. K. R. Chitra, AOR Mr. Shreekant Neelappa Terdal, AOR Mr. Mukesh Kumar Maroria, AOR Mr. Abhinav Bajaj, Adv. Ms. Geetashi Chandna, Adv. Mr. Saksham Ojha, Adv. Ms. K. Enatoli Sema, AOR Mr. Amit Kumar Singh, Adv. Ms. Chubalemla Chang, Adv. Mr. Prang Newmai, Adv. Mr. K. M. Nataraj, A.S.G. Mr. Gurmeet Singh Makker, AOR Mr. S. N. Terdal, Adv. Ms. Indira Bhakar, Adv. Mr. Neeraj Kumar Sharma, Adv. Mr. Kanu Agrawal, Adv. Mr. Jose Abraham, AOR Mr. Anoop Rattan, Sr. Adv. Mr. Varinder Kumar Sharma, AOR Mr. Chirag M. Shroff, AOR Mrs. Mahima C Shroff, Adv. Mr. Dhananjay Kataria, Adv. Mr. Aravindh S., AOR Mr. Akshay Gupta, Adv. Ms. Uma Bhuvaneswari, Adv.

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

 Taking into consideration the importance of the matter, we request Shri Nidhesh Gupta, learned senior counsel to assist the Court as Amicus Curiae.

2. We also request Ms. Suhasini Sen, learned counsel, to appear along with Shri Nidhesh Gupta, learned senior counsel, as an Amicus Curiae to assist the Court.

3. The Registry is directed to supply complete set (hard copy or soft copy) of the papers to Shri Nidhesh Gupta and Ms. Suhasini Sen.

4. All the State Governments/Union Territories shall also forward their affidavits in reply/counter affidavits to the learned Amicus

6

Curiae.

5. Insofar as State of Himachal Pradesh is concerned, Shri Huzefa Ahmadi, learned senior counsel appearing on behalf of the High Court of Himachal Pradesh, states that in spite of repeated reminders to the State of Himachal Pradesh for establishment of Gram Nyayalaya, the State Government is not taking any steps in the matter.

We direct the State of Himachal Pradesh to file their response prior to the next date of hearing.

7. Insofar as the State Governments/Union Territories and the High Courts who have not filed their response are concerned, we direct the Chief Secretary/Administrator and the Registrar General of the respective High Courts to file their response within a period of three weeks from today. We clarify that if any State/Union Territory and the High Courts will not file their affidavit by the next date of hearing, we will be constrained to take serious view of the matter 8. List on 16.10.2024.

(NARENDRA PRASAD) DEPUTY REGISTRAR (ANJU KAPOOR) COURT MASTER

7