

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

The Supreme Court Collegium has recommended the names of (i) Shri Justice Yanshivraj Gopichand Khobragade, (ii) Shri Justice Mahendra Wadhumal Chandwani, (iii) Shri Justice Abhay Sopanrao Waghwase, and (iv) Shri Justice Ravindra Madhusudan Joshi, Additional Judges of the High Court of Bombay for appointment as permanent Judges and for appointment of (i) Shri Justice Sanjay Anandrao Deshmukh, and (ii) Smt. Justice Vrushali Vijay Joshi as Additional Judges for a fresh term of one year, in the following terms:

On 01 April 2024, the Collegium of the High Court of Bombay unanimously recommended the Additional Judges whose names are set out above for appointment as permanent Judges of that High Court. The Chief Ministers and the Governors of the States of Maharashtra and Goa have concurred with the above recommendation.

In terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, the Judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the affairs of the High Court of Bombay have



been consulted with a view to ascertain the suitability of the abovenamed Additional Judges for being appointed as permanent Judges.

A Committee of two Judges of the Supreme Court constituted by the Chief Justice of India in terms of the Resolution dated 26 October 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium has assessed the judgments of the above Additional Judges and rated the judgments authored by them as 'upto the mark'.

With a view to assess the merit and suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for their appointment as permanent Judges, the Collegium has scrutinized and evaluated the material placed on record including the opinion of the consultee-judges and the report of the Judgment Assessment Committee.

Having regard to all relevant factors, the Collegium is of the view that S/Shri Justices (i) Yanshivraj Gopichand Khobragade, (ii) Mahendra Wadhumal Chandwani, (iii) Abhay Sopanrao Waghwase, and (iv) Ravindra Madhusudan Joshi, Additional Judges, are fit and suitable for being appointed as permanent Judges.



In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend as under:

(1) S/Shri Justices (i) Yanshivraj Gopichand Khobragade, (ii)

Mahendra Wadhumal Chandwani, (iii) Abhay Sopanrao

Waghwase, and (iv) Ravindra Madhusudan Joshi, Additional

Judges, be appointed as permanent Judges of the High Court of

Bombay against the existing vacancies, and

(2) (i) Shri Justice Sanjay Anandrao Deshmukh and (ii) Smt.

Justice Vrushali Vijay Joshi, be appointed as Additional Judges

of the High Court of Bombay for a fresh term of one year with

effect from 07 October 2024.

(Dhananjaya Y Chandrachud), CJI

(Sanjiv Khanna), J

(B R Gavai), J

09 July 2024.

3